University of Nebraska-Lincoln AAPG Student Chapter



























Organization Mission

To advance the science of geology, especially as it relates to petroleum, natural gas, other subsurface fluids, and mineral resources; to promote the technology of exploring for, finding, and producing these materials in an economically and environmentally sound manner; to foster the spirit of scientific research throughout its membership; to disseminate information relating to the geology and the associated technology of petroleum and maintain a high standard of professional conduct on the part of its members; to provide the public with means to recognize adequately trained and professionally responsible geologists; and to advance the professional well-being of its members.


Chapter members after clearing trash from Antelope Valley in Lincoln. Top Row (L-R): Mjahid Zebari, Zack Kita, Nicole Pierson, Donnald Johnson, & Eric Reiss. Bottom Row (L-R): Andrew Hutsky, John Still, Karma Doescher, and Bobbi Brace.


Chapter Officers (2013 - 2014)

President: Nicole Pierson (

Vice-President: Sebastien Blanchard (

Secretary: Ibrahim Alkhardawi (

Treasurer: Mike Harrison (

Faculty Adviser: Dr. Chris Fielding (



Upcoming Events

Next Meeting Nov. 2013, Bessey 109


Community Service Clean-up Nov. 3, 2013; 1:00 PM


Boy Scout Museum Event Nov. 9, 2013, 4:30 PM (set up); 5:30 - 8:30 PM, State Museum


Kansas Underground Salt Museum Nov. 17, 2013, Kansas


UNL AAPG Geology Bowl Nov. 18, 2013, 4:30 - 6:30 PM, Bessey Hall TBA